Navigating the modern business of book publishing

The Slap by Chritos Tsiolkas wins the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize

Allen & Unwin - RRP $32.95

Allen & Unwin - RRP $32.95

The 2009 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize was awarded this weekend at the Auckland Writers’ Festival. Christos Tsiolkas won the overall Best Book for his fourth novel, The Slap, while Pakistan author Mohammed Hanif won the prize for best first novel with his satirical look at dictatorship, A Case of Exploding Mangoes.

Categorised in: All Posts, Australian Literature, Literary Awards, Publishing News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About Richard

Richard Bilkey has been selling, marketing and distributing books for over ten years, managing independent bookshops, a major online retailer and, most recently, one of Australia's largest Independent Book Distributors, Brumby Books.

Contact Richard directly at
%d bloggers like this: