Navigating the modern business of book publishing

Johannes Cabal: The Necromancer – Jonathan L. Howard

Johannes Cabal: The Necromancer - Jonathan L. Howard

Johannes Cabal: The Necromancer - Faustian Bargains were never this much fun

For fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, a brilliantly funny new take on the  Faustian bargain.

Johannes Cabal, scientific genius and renowned intellectual snob, did a deal with the devil. He sold his soul for the ability to control the dead. Unfortunately Johannes soon realises that there’s little point being a necromancer without possession of his own soul. But the devil seemed like a sporting fellow — perhaps they could come to some arrangement.

As it turns out the Devil loves a wager. Enlist a hundred new souls in 12 months and Johannes is a free man— the Devil even offers Johannes a travelling circus franchise to help in the endeavour. So, it’s a simple matter of raising his vampire brother from the dead, resurrecting a troupe of zombie freak show employees and hitting the road with his Carnival of Discord. If only swindling people out of their souls were that easy!

Cabal’s  sarcastic wit slaps you from the page and the nightmarish bureaucracy that is Howard’s vision of Hell surpasses even Douglas Adams’ Vogons for pencil pushing madness. Exceedingly clever, devilishly funny and wickedly entertaining.

Advertisements

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: All Posts, Book Reviews, Fiction, SF & Fantasy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

About Richard

Richard Bilkey has been selling, marketing and distributing books for over ten years, managing independent bookshops, a major online retailer and, most recently, one of Australia's largest Independent Book Distributors, Brumby Books.

Contact Richard directly at richard@fictionetal.com.au
%d bloggers like this: